red Cap® Valtod*

 

red cap® Valtod*

KIKU Ltd. owns the worldwide rights (except in the USA) on a new strain of Red Delicious with origin USA. We applied for the plant patent under the variety name „Valtod”, and trees are sold under the red cap® brand.

Fruits can freely be sold with the denomination „Red Delicious“.
Red cap® Valtod*-trees are planted in our testing fields in Girlan.

Apple: colour Blush type, Shiny red overcolour, Colours some weeks earlier

Apple: form High, elongated

Trees: vigour Spur, but stronger than e.g. Sandidge© Superchief®

Download PDF Information

SUCCESSFUL DEFENSE OF TM red cap®
court sentence in the case KIKU vs Feno Ltd
COURT RULES IN FAVOUR OF KIKU:

The company has successfully defended its trademark red cap®, with Feno ordered to pay all costs arising out of the Court Case.
In 2005 Feno had started a court case in the specialised section in Venice for IP-rights claiming illegal market behaviour and registration of red cap® in mala fede, asking cancellation of red cap®, inhibition to use red cap® with penalty of 10.000€, damages of 25.000€ plus lost incomes, and final pubblication of Court sentence.
The Court of Venice ruled in May 2008 that every request of Feno is rejected, and that Feno shall pay all costs of the Court Case. Feno has opted not to appeal the decision, therefore the sentence is definitive since its registration in February 2009.

extract of court sentence

red cap® Valtod*

 

red cap® Valtod*

Die KIKU GmbH hat sich die weltweiten Rechte an einem neuen Red-Delicious-Klon aus den USA sichern können. Die Sorte ist unter „Valtod“ zum EU-Sortenschutz angemeldet, und die Bäume werden unter der Marke red cap® vertrieben.

Die Früchte können frei unter der Bezeichnung „Red Delicious“ vertrieben werden. Red cap® Valtod* steht in Girlan in unseren Versuchsfeldern.

Apfel: Farbe – Vollfärbig verwaschen, Leuchtend rote Deckfarbe, Färbt einige Wochen früher aus

Apfel: Form – hochgebaut

Baum:Wachstum stärker als z.B. Sandidge© Superchief®

Download PDF Information

ERFOLGREICHE MARKENVERTEIDIGUNG red cap®

Urteil in der Klage KIKU vs Feno GmbH

GERICHT URTEILT ZU GUNSTEN VON KIKU:

KIKU® hat mit Erfolg seine Marke red cap® verteidigt, während Feno zur Bezahlung aller entstandenen Spesen verurteilt wurde.

2005 hatte Feno ein Gerichtsverfahren vor der Spezialisierten Sektion für Intellektuelle Rechte in Venedig initiiert, mit dem Vorwurf des unlauteren Wettbewerbes und der Registrierung der Marke red cap® in mala fede. Der Antrag lautete auf Löschung der Marke red cap®, auf Verbot des Gebrauches von red cap® mit einer Pönale von 10.000€ bei Mißachtung, auf Schadensersatz in Höhe von mindestens 25.000€ plus entgangenem Gewinn, und auf Pubblikation des Gerichtsurteiles.

Das Gericht von Venedig hat alle Anträge der Feno am 25. Mai 2008 abgewiesen, und Feno zur Bezahlung aller entstandenen Spesen von KIKU verurteilt. Da Feno dieses Urteil nicht angefochten hat, ist es definitiv und seit Registrierung im Februar 2009 vollstreckbar.

Download PDF Urteil